The structure of ZK/U


ZK/U – Zentrum für Kunst und Urbanistik
Siemensstrasse 27
10551 Berlin


Residency: +49 30 39885840
Project: +49 30 39885842
Events: +49 30 39885843
Fax: +49 30 39885841

General inquiries: info(at)
Residency inquiries: residency(at)
Space rental and events: events(at)
Project inquiries:

The ZK/U concept and practice were initiated by the artist collective and non-profit organization KUNSTrePUBLIK e.V.. The association managed to become the owner of the former railway depot and holds a 40 year lease on the ground. KUNSTrePUBLIK‘s concepts and projects are equally focused on local involvement and global exchange.

Coming from non-institutional backgrounds, the founders aspire to continue exploring ways of collaborating, researching and creating, that go beyond the lines of existing structures and preconceptions. As part of their artistic practice, KUNSTrePUBLIK considers the development of ZK/U a long-term process that will evolve through the contributions and critical feedback expressed by its participants, partners and a diverse audience.

KUNSTrePUBLIK is a registered German non-profit organization „for the common good“. While not in receipt of fixed institutional funding, KUNSTrePUBLIK has been funded on a project basis by the European Cultural Fund, the Hauptstadtkulturfonds (Capital City Cultural Fund), the Kunstfonds Foundation, and Bipolar, an initiative of the German Federal Cultural Foundation.

Founders of ZK/U:
Matthias Einhoff, Philip Horst, Harry Sachs

KUNSTrePUBLIK formation:
In November 2006 founding members, Matthias Einhoff, Philip Horst, Markus Lohmann, Harry Sachs and Daniel Seiple, inaugurated the open-air Skulpturenpark Berlin_Zentrum on a former “no man‘s land” that was once part of the Berlin Wall: a 5-hectare unbuilt, city-center lot upon which numerous international artists have since carried out projects. Counter to traditional sculpture parks and public art, Skulpturenpark Berlin_Zentrum encourages sculpture as a process that has the potential to reveal and critique the social, historical and structural contexts provided by the site. In 2008 the Skulpturenpark hosted the 5th Berlin Biennale, as one of its three main venues.

As part of the 2010 Werkleitz Festival, KUNSTrePUBLIK curated an international art in public space project, Angst in Form, which was supported by the German Federal Cultural Foundation. In addition to initiating and curating projects, the members of KUNSTrePUBLIK individually and collectively pursue their own art practices, teach and organize symposia and research projects on socio-political themes and spatial theory.

FEVALA Bar (in summer)

Open Fri. 17-23h, Sat. 12-21h, Sun. 15-20h


Board of directors

Matthias Einhoff
Philip Horst
Harry Sachs


Lotta Schäfer (Residency)
Lena Enne (Projects)
Miodrag Kuč (Projects)
Dennis Lindenau (Projects)
Luisa Traumann (Events)
Matthias Stieler (Gastronomy)

Current team members

Franziska Unger
Johanne Kaufmanas
David Robotham
Gustavo Sanromán
Alexander Stöhr
Charles Vincent
Joanna Witkowski

Former team members

Elena Azzedín
Jana Baierova
Johanna Betz
Alice Bobée
Céline Bobillon
Lisa Blum
Claudia Burbaum
Jeanne Chapy
Mafalda Corrêa Nunes
Jana Doudova
Ilkim Er
Gertruda Gilyte
Lýdia Grešákov
Yasmine Hrimeche
Katarína Jančovičová
Samuel Kalika
Helena Knorr
Katharina Löschner
Johanne B. Larsen
Gergely Laszlo
Petra Linhartová
Simone Mallbrand
Gauthier Mack-Mallik
Bastian Manteuffel
Billy Matthews
Virág Major
Marta Medvešek
Lianne Mol
Zsófia Paczolay
Jana Perkovic
Nienke van Pijkeren
Thomas Pommersberger
Urszula Przybylska

Nele Rathke
Gustavo Sanromán
Sabine Scheuring
Cleo Schrieb
Miguel Schuster
Caroline Sosna
Clara Stein
Lisa Thiele
Ras Torunlar
Frederik Unruh
Samuel Walter
Philipp Wagner
Julia Widdig
Johannes Wildhack
Joanna Witkowski
Marius Wittmann
Robert Wünsche
Hannes Mitterberger
Claudia Zanaga

Hannah Groot Zevert




Associated Board

Andrea Hofmann - Gilly Karjevski - Folke Köbberling - Miodrag Kuc - Gergely Laszlo - Annette Maechtel


The Reconstruction of the former Railway Depot Moabit was supported by:

Luisenstädtische Lichtungen, KUNSTrePUBLIK, 2008